When Greg died, two of his friends — Alice and Grant Burton — were instrumental in setting up the "Greg Bond Musical Theatre Fund," where donations in Greg's name could be made through the Toronto Community Foundation

We are proud to celebrate Greg's memory through our primary granting focus of recognizing students, individuals and organizations for their outstanding contributions to Canada's musical theatre community,

The award recipients exemplify the cooperative spirit, integrity and dedication to excellence that made Greg so well loved by his fellow musicians, cast mates and crew members.

Sheridan College (Toronto)

Sheridan College established the first "Greg Bond Memorial Award" of $1,000 in 1991. Co-founded by Rod Maxwell (also co-founder and Artistic Director of Theatre Sheridan) their Music Theatre Performance Program has become one of the most sought-after of its kind in Canada, providing theoretical and practical training in the core disciplines of acting, singing and dancing. Recipients are selected from recent graduates who are "making change within the arts community." 

2023 UPDATE: We are thrilled to announce that we have been able to increase the annual "Alumni" award (for a qualified graduate) to $2,000. Additionally, we have created a second annual $2,000 award, which will go to a deserving fourth-year student. This year, both awards will be presented in-person, on April 27, at the Oakville campus convocation ceremony.

(We are currently working on the list of recent award winners.)

2023—Kimmy Truong (Alumnus)

2022—Genny Sermonia

2021—Vanessa Sears

2015—Chilina Kennedy

2000—Tammy Sutherland 

1999—Brian Elliot and Jackie Hadley Mustakas.  

1997—Stephen Patterson: A hard working performer who used the money to continue with lessons.  

1996—Ryan Kelly  

1995—Deanna Overland: Felt very rewarded to receive recognition after many years from early childhood of diligent struggle.  

1994—Michelle Berting Brett: Studied for many years before entering Sheridan. Used the money to make a demo tape which furthered her career.  

1993—Catherine O'Brien: Co-founder and Artistic Producer of Young at Heart Musical Theatre for Seniors, Inc. 

1992—Susan Greenfield: Susan was a nurse who was attracted to the theatre in Red Deer. She used the money to buy a piano and found the encouragement very helpful.  

1991—David Connolly: David is a dancer/choreographer. He was born with no feet but hasn't let that hold him back from a successful stage career.  

The Betty Mitchell Awards (Calgary)

Named for Dr. Betty Mitchell — a pioneer of the theatre in Greg's beloved hometown — the "Bettys" were created in 1998 to celebrate and honour outstanding achievement in Calgary’s professional theatre community. From 1998–2019, the annual recipients of the "The Greg Bond Memorial Award" were selected by a jury — and received a $1,000 cash prize — for outstanding contribution to musical theatre in Calgary. 

2019—Nicole Duma-Lorincz, Lisa O'Brien and Anita Miotti

2018—Ruth Bond (below left, with 2013 winner, Onalea Gilbertson)

2017—Konrad Pluta 

2016—JP Thibodeau 

2015—The Young Canadians School of Performing Arts

2014—Willy Joosen

2013—Onalea Gilbertson (pictured above with Ruth Bond)

2012—Chris Jacko

2011—Tory Doctor

2010—Doug McKeag

2009—Joel Cochrane

2008—Denise Clarke

2007—David Rhymer

2006—Mark Bellamy

2005—Elaine Higgin Case

2004—Joe Slabe: Founding artistic director of Forte Musical Theatre Guild

2003—Hal Kerbes

2002—Stage West Dinner Theatre

2001—Marilyn Perkins: Founder of Westside Singers

2000—Bob Foster: Musical Director, performer and composer

1999—Margot McDermott: Director, choreographer and performer. She was instrumental in making The Calgary Young Canadians an organisation that is world-renowned.   

1998—Tom Doyle: Teacher, composer, performer and playwright.   

Timmins Concert Singers

Greg performed twice with the Singers and as usual, he made a big impression. 😁 Created in 1977, under the direction of Rosanne Simunovic, the Timmins Youth Singers combined the voices of local youth, providing the opportunity to explore various styles of music. Later evolving into the Timmins Concert Singers, they continue to perform Christmas and Spring concerts, pursuing a variety of repertoire and sharing the stage with world class Canadian performers. The winners of $250 were:  

1999—Beaugart Humphreys  

1998—Sylvain Boissonneault, Jessica Hince and Aileen Roy  

1997—Ginette Hebert and Matthew Humphreys  


Parent-Child Mother Goose

This one-time award of $500 went to The Parent-Child Mother Goose Program for disadvantaged families, where parents and their young children learn to share the power and pleasure of oral rhymes, songs, and stories.